Posted by: ktzefr | June 22, 2017

Donkey Poo: “Brown is the New Green”

Donkey, USVI National Park; Photo:KFawcett

 

I brought donkey poo back from the Caribbean…

Not the raw, stinky stuff.   I have the final end product – Poopoopaper.  The note on the back of the wrapping says that poopoopaper is “fun, memorable, and sustainable.  “Brown is the new green” it says.

I bought the little book with the donkey silhouette on the cover at the Friends of Virgin Islands National Park shop at Mongoose Junction in Cruz Bay, St. John USVI.  The national park is home to many “wild” donkeys, so there is an abundance of donkey poo.  Donkeys eat a lot of grass and they poop a lot. I know this to be true as I had to be alert so as to avoid donkey poo on my morning walks last week.

Apparently, donkey digestive systems don’t really break down the grass all that well, so their poop has plenty of fiber.  Fiber, of course, is used in making pulp for paper.  So it follows that donkey poo would make great paper products.

A few years back I bought an elephant poo book.  I have filled it with passages from my favorite poetry.  It fits in my purse.  It’s there when I’m looking for a special verse or just need a moment of escape or inspiration.  One of the verses in the elephant book is from Pablo Neruda’s “Ode to the Book II” – “Book/beautiful/book,/miniscule forest,/leaf/after leaf.”

Most books are, indeed, miniscule forests.  But not these two.  Making paper from poop saves trees.  This passage from Federico Garcia Lorca’s “Trees” is written in my elephant poop book: “…your music springs from the soul of birds, from the eyes of God, from perfect passion.”  Lovely.

Donkeys by the sea, USVI National Park; Photo:KFawcett

So, I’ve got a new book.  What shall I do with the donkey poo book?  More special bits of poetry?  Remembered moments?  Donkey encounters?

This makes me think of another favorite passage in the back of the elephant book.  From Mary Oliver – “…what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?”  A big thought, indeed.

Heck, I don’t even know what to do with the donkey book.

A certain symbolism occurred to me.  I now have crap from both donkeys and elephants (democrats and republicans?), but I refuse to put even the tiniest bit of political crap in my poo books. 

*********

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

