Posted by: ktzefr | March 2, 2016

Foto Focus on Orchids

I have a bunch of orchids that never bloom.  I put them outside in summer and they look very green and healthy.  I bring them inside in winter and alternate setting them in the sun and out of the sun.  I water thoroughly and then forget to water for long periods of time.  I’ve been told by various people to do this or that and I’ve done this and that and they don’t bloom.  So…I enjoy visiting the local orchid shows in late winter/early spring.

Orchids in Focus is always a great exhibit at the US Botanic Gardens.  The current show opened on February 27 and goes through April 1 in the Conservatory Garden Court and East Gallery.

Here are a few favorite pics:

Orchids; Photo:KFawcett

Orchids; Photo:KFawcett

 

Photo:KFawcett

Photo:KFawcett

 

Photo:KFawcett

Photo:KFawcett

 

Photo:KFawcett

Photo:KFawcett

 

Photo:KFawcett

Photo:KFawcett

 

Photo:KFawcett

Photo:KFawcett

 

Photo:KFawcett

Photo:KFawcett

Responses

  1. I had a plant that I nurtured through three winters with no hint of flowers. Then, to my amazement, it bloomed and lasted almost three months. Don’t give up!

    • I’ll keep trying. But they sure look scrappy right now.

  2. I never could get orchids to bloom, until I moved to Vietnam. They love the climate. Warm and humid with no cold nights, and dappled sunlight.


Leave a Reply

Categories

