Posted by: ktzefr | August 8, 2013

Mornings in Bethany Beach

My alone time…I walk the boardwalk and watch the shimmer of sunlight on the water through the dune grasses.  Then to the coffee shop for a latte, the market for fruit, the bakery for doughnuts and muffins.  This is one of my favorite times of day at the shore.

sunlight on ocean - Copy

Bethany Beach, DE; Photo:KFawcett

One morning I woke up around 4 a.m. and saw the most beautiful orange slice of moon resting just above the water.  The sweeping light across the Salt Pond was orange, too.  I was tired later, but grateful for whatever stirrings woke me at that moment to see the crescent moon so perfect against the black sky.  I wish I had a picture, but I didn’t want to go rummaging around in the dark for my camera and wake up the rest of the house.

The fig trees are full of fruit…

IMG_1225

and the crepe myrtle is blooming.

???????????????????????????????

Hummingbirds fly in and out of the trumpet flowers and the purple blooms of the lavender and butterfly bushes.

IMG_1228

IMG_1230

So many blooms!

IMG_1214

Church bells ring across the Salt Pond…the shrill voices of two little boys in a boat dance across the water…an elderly couple paddles a canoe through the canals looking for birds.  Gulls, sandpipers, osprey.  On a narrow spit of land jutting out into the pond there’s an osprey nest with a baby…I can see the mother through the binoculars and an extra, smaller head peeking up through the sticks and straw.  The older bird leaves the nest to dive for fish.  Along the shore in the shallows there is a multitude of tiny fish and crabs that glide sideways across the muddy floor.

I suppose my favorite non-flowering tree is the seagrape that grows in the tropics, but the Eastern Shore pines are tall and skinny and full of cones.  They’re pretty, too. 

IMG_1206

**********

Where are you this summer?  Favorite places at the shore?

Leave a Reply

Categories

