Posted by: ktzefr | May 4, 2013

Snowballs in May…of the flowering type

My favorite snowballs!

Snowball Vibernum; Photo:KFawcett

Snowball Vibernum; Photo:KFawcett

My snowball “bush” is a 15-foot tree!  There are a number of different types of vibernum bushes that produce “snowball” flowers and this one is almost 20 years old, so I’m not sure about the species.  The best match I can find in my searches is the Chinese Snowball Vibernum.  In any case, it’s my favorite plant on the premises.  I grew up with a snowball bush in our yard and was excited when I bought this one.  I never imagined, however, that it would grow to monster proportions.  We planted it in the empty hole where a scrub pine had uprooted and fallen over in a storm.  Perhaps all that good natural mulch had something to do with it. 

Snowball Vibernum; Photo:KFawcett

Snowball Vibernum; Photo:KFawcett

Responses

  1. What a beautiful bush!!!!! Kathy and GlennMay 4, 2013 01:52:19 PM, comment+eqn0u147b64tiyckwxasau0@comment.wordpress.com wrote:

    ktzefr posted: “My favorite snowballs! My snowball “bush” is a 15-foot tree!  There are a number of different types of vibernum bushes that produce “snowball” flowers and this one is almost 20 years old, so I’m not sure about the species.  The best match I can fin”

  2. Magnificent specimen!


Leave a Reply

Categories

