Posted by: ktzefr | October 19, 2012

Lime Tree Tea in San Miguel…

It’s midday in mid-February and my niece and I are strolling through the Fabrica La Aurora in San Miguel de Allende in the state of Guanajuato in Central Mexico.  They call this area, where Mexico’s independence movement began, “El Corazon de Mexico,” the heart of Mexico.  The other (i.e. bad) stuff you hear about Mexico is going on elsewhere.   Some folks call this part of the country “the real Mexico,” the one with the big heart. 

Here, the mornings begin with the scent of jasmine and a pot of lime tree tea.

Casa de Liza, San Miguel de Allende; Photo:KFawcett

At home I drink strong tea for breakfast, brewed with black tea leaves, and full of caffeine.  But, when our host Beatriz offered to make her special herbal tea, I decided to give it a try.  The tea is brewed with the leaves of the lime tree.  I didn’t get the caffeine boost that I get from my usual brews, but the subtle citrus flavor was a delight, soothing to drink along with the more powerful flavors of breakfast — huevos rancheros, chilaquiles, sopes, fresh papaya and mango, and homemade biscuits with marmalade made with fruits from the garden.  Lime tree tea is a pale yellow-green.  Have a look HERE.

Casa de Liza, San Miguel de Allende; Photo:KFawcett

At around 6,000 feet, San Miguel is at high altitude with days and nights that seem to switch seasons.  Cold drinks are great for daytime temps in the 70s and 80s, but the temperature falls quickly when the sun goes down.  A lit fire and a cup of hot lime tree tea was perfect for the chilly, 40ish-degree, nights and early mornings.  I like the way the early morning light plays on the city itself and shades the distant mountains in a blue haze.

San Miguel de Allende, Mexico; Photo:KFawcett

Travelers to Mexico are often looking for a great tequila.  Not me.  I much prefer the lime tree tea.

**********

Responses

  1. Lime tree tea sounds so good; in fact, your breakfast has me salivating since it’s breakfast-time as I read (fresh mangos and biscuits. Ummm). Looks liek a complete paradise! Thanks for sharing a part of your journey with us.

    • Thanks, Melissa. San Miguel de Allende is one of my favorite places. And I love tea!


Leave a Reply

Categories

