Posted by: ktzefr | June 27, 2012

Seashell Reflections

This bowl sits on my back porch “desk” and provides endless musings between bouts of work.   Flowers originally came in the bowl/vase for a birthday, Mother’s Day, anniversary or some other celebration.  I don’t recall.  The seashells were given to us by someone in the islands.  I found the “volunteer” hosta plant growing in the backyard, added water, and presto!

Photo:KFawcett

This is actually the second hosta and the second set of shells I’ve had in the bowl this summer.  The first time around I used shells from a box of potpourri.  The hosta died immediately.  It went limp overnight and couldn’t be revived.  It must have been the chemicals in the potpourri.

This time the plant is doing fine.  It doesn’t need much — a little sun, shade, earth, and water.  A balance.  Sort of like the rest of us.  In a natural setting it thrives.  I consider the place I feel most at home (natural) and realize it’s not in a house at all but rather outdoors.  I like to be amongst the trees and flowers, looking at blue skies (and the sky is gorgeous today–you can even see bits of it reflected blue in the glass bowl).  I grew up in the yard.  Summer nights we’d sit outside until dark — talking, peeling peaches or breaking beans to can, watching the cars go by.  It was the place I did most of my reading and dreaming when the weather permitted.

I think about the five tiny animals that once lived in the shells in this bowl.  Sea snails.  Though I got these particular shells in the Caribbean, they are native to the Indo-Pacific.  The banded Turbo Pentholatus is found from the coast of East Africa to the northern shores of Australia and New Zealand.  Although they’re called Turbo, the name doesn’t derive from their turban-like shape.  The scientific name Turbinidae is actually based on the genus Turbo, which is Latin for spinning top (like a kid’s toy), which is exactly what they look like.  They often get naturally recycled as hermit crabs love to make their homes in the roomy, sturdy shells. 

These five crossed the ocean from the Indo-Pacific region to the Caribbean to find their way into my suitcase and settle at last in this glass bowl, providing me with…endless things to think about between bouts of work.  I can close my eyes and almost fall asleep beneath the almond and acacia, kapok and calabash, swinging in a hammock somewhere above the sea.

British Virgin Islands:Photo:KFawcett

What little “things” sitting about your house set you to dreaming?

************************

Leave a Reply

Categories

