Posted by: ktzefr | May 10, 2012

Thursday: Tea and Poetry…and Cookies

The tea:

Black teas are my favorite; green teas are my least favorite.  But, occasionally, I mix a couple of greens and get a very nice brew.  Today?  Golden Jade Green and Jasmine Dragon Phoenix Pearls.  The advertisement says that Golden Jade is “the glistening pride and joy of China” and the Jasmine Dragon Pearls are “a phenomenon of fragrance and sweetness.”   These last are hand-rolled leaves that are shaped like pearls and unfold gradually in the hot water.  I like the jasmine tea alone, but this mix also makes a good brew.  (See ordering from Teavana at the end of this post.)

Photo:KFawcett

The poetry:

“Creecy Greens” and other poems by Jeff Mann.  Having grown up in eastern Kentucky I know what pokeweed is and what it smells like when it’s cooking.  I’m not sure, however, that I would recognize creecy greens, though I used to hear my mom and her sister talk about gathering and cooking creecy.  A few lines from this poem —

“…I saw them,/sandy spiders for sale in the farmers’ market,/a treat few outside Appalachia would recognize.”

“…This skill you embodied:/how to live on weeds, how the wilderness feeds us/if we know which plants to pluck.  How to season/spareness with fatback, how rich pot-liquor is:/with homebaked biscuits we sop up every drop.”

Well, I’m not baking biscuits today, but these cookies are mighty good.

 

The Cookies:

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal with dried cherries and nuts — easy recipe, ready in less than 15 minutes, and the cookies taste homemade.

Start with Betty Crocker’s Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookie mix (see HERE) and add the butter and egg as indicated on the package.  Then toss in about 1/4 cup of extra semi-sweet chocolate chips, a nice handful of dried cherries (dark or tart, whatever is to your liking and you can leave whole or cut in half), and an equal handful of pecans.  Be sure to use real butter.  I like to make big cookies so this only makes about 1 1/2 dozen, but they’re soooo good!

**********

More on creecy greens HERE.  (The meal on this site pairs creecy greens with salmon cakes.  When I was growing up my mom used to make salmon cakes with canned salmon.  I didn’t know anyone else who made the cakes, but apparently they were/are pretty popular.)

Jasmine Dragon Phoenix Pearls; Photo:KFawcett

 

  Order terrific tea leaves from TEAVANA

 

 

 

 

**********

What’s your favorite tea?

What about the wild things?  Do you have a favorite green or root or berry or mushroom that grows wild in the wood?

Bake the cookies and let me know what you think…

**********

Responses

  1. Oh tea and poetry is my favorite combination!!!:) Lavender tea while I write spiritually and milk and black tea for the romantic in me. 🙂 -Jennifer


Leave a Reply

Categories

