Posted by: ktzefr | May 14, 2011

Blooms in my own backyard

One of the best things I like about spring is being able to set up my summer office in the trees.  On rainy days I’m still forced to work inside, but at other times —  be it sunny, cloudy, hot and humid, or cool and dry — I pack up the laptop, notebooks, reading materials, and a pot of tea and head for the back deck.  While I work I can listen to the birds sing and the squirrels chatter, smell the potted jasmine, and watch the flowers grow. 

Blooming sage

The sage is blooming with its tiny purple flowers that look like mini orchids.

We haven’t had a true rain today, but the air has stayed misty and every now and then I hear sprinkles in the leaves overhead, but the foliage is thick now and serves as a great umbrella so long as the rain doesn’t come down too hard.

The squirrels have a regular “highway in the sky” that runs through the tops of the trees.   Maple, hophorn beam, tulip poplar, dogwood, holly, and scrub pine.  They’ve been working on their nests today, running back and forth with leafy twigs and depositing them in crooks and crevices.

I have one rose blooming in the garden.  The plant itself is rather scraggly looking, but it managed to produce one pretty bloom to start the season.

My rhododendrons, on the other hand, are simply amazing.  Tall and round and full of bloom.

The impatiens are looking pretty and the hummingbirds are back.  It’s much easier to get a picture of the feeder, however, than to snap a pic of these quick little birds.  I’ll keep trying…

Another pretty bloom or two…

What’s growing in your yard?

Leave a Reply

Categories

