Posted by: ktzefr | February 16, 2011

To Come and Go Like Magic: The Soundtrack

Reflections...

As I wrote TO COME AND GO LIKE MAGIC a number of songs played in my memory.  Some of them naturally fit a character or a time or a scene and they ended up in the story.  I decided to flip through the book and look for all the songs.  I had never done this before and honestly could not have guessed the number nor listed all the music from memory.

If you’ve read the book and remember others I’ve missed, let me know.  I took a quick spin through the pages and this is what I found…(the songs are in the order they appear in the story, thus the haphazard mix of gospel, rock, folk, etc.)

Perhaps they will bring back memories for some and create new ones for others…

(Click on the SONG to link and be sure to use the back arrow to return to this page)

1) This is a lovely version by Dolly Parton and the You Tube video shows some pretty country scenes for this old gospel tune…

IN THE SWEET BY AND BY

2)  Here’s Bobby Fuller singing…”Breaking rocks in the hot sun/I fought the lawand the law won…”

I FOUGHT THE LAW

3)  Ahhh…”born in the wagon of a traveling show…”  Listen to Cher sing GYPSIES, TRAMPS, AND THIEVES.

4)  I love Joan Baez’s version of this old song, but couldn’t find a You Tube performance.  However, if you have never heard Michelle Wright and Iris Dement sing this song, don’t miss this video!

WILL THE CIRCLE BE UNBROKEN

5)  Chili Sue and her cousin Lenny (two of the book’s characters) get into trouble the night they listen to the next two songs.  It has something to do with too much dancing…

Check out Daddy Dewdrop’s “chick in a black bikini” – CHICK-A-BOOM (DON’T YA JES’ LOVE IT)

6) And The Who’s I CAN SEE FOR MILES AND MILES AND MILES AND MILES…

7)  Since I spent many years in the marching band and my hometown had its annual festival parade, my book had to have at least one parade and one rendition of Sousa’s wonderful STARS AND STRIPES FOREVER (My high school band, however, never sounded this good!)

8)  Who remembers Grand Funk Railroad?  Bellbottoms and boots and a “train” of people circling the dance floor…doing the LOCOMOTION!

9)  In one scene of TO COME AND GO LIKE MAGIC a cassette player is tucked away on a shelf at the local A&P Store and Roger Miller is singing…

I’VE BEEN A LONG TIME LEAVIN’ BUT I’LL BE A LONG TIME GONE...

10) Now, back to church.  This is the great southern gospel music group, the Chuck Wagon Gang, singing one of my all-time favorites —

WHISPERING HOPE

11)  And another, perhaps my favorite of all gospel tunes.  Years ago, I heard Judy Collins end her show at Wolf Trap Farm Park with this song and it was simply mesmerizing.  I think this You Tube version’s pics are as good as the music.  And I love the monarch butterfly near the end.  If you’ve read the book, you know the significance.   Don’t miss this rendition of…

AMAZING GRACE.

12)  Ending with a little sadness, a little fun…there’s a chapter titled, “California Dreamin’ Like the Old Song” in which Chili’s Pop reveals his own lost dreams of youth, so here’s to Pop and The Mamas and the Papas, wrapping it up with —

CALIFORNIA DREAMIN’

I hope you’ve enjoyed the musical trip through TO COME AND GO LIKE MAGIC.  Hardcover, paperback, Nook Book, Kindle available now at Barnes and Noble, IndieBound, Books-A-Million, Amazon, and most other booksellers!  See “News and Reviews” on this site to see what others are saying about the book.

**********


Leave a Reply

Categories

