Posted by: ktzefr | February 14, 2010

Igloos and Icicles; White Sand and Blue Water…

“…I can still hear, within the depths/of every sleeping shell,/the vast sea-roar!” ~ Javier Heraud

At home I often think about distant places; when I travel I often think about home.   In my book, To Come and Go Like Magic, the 12-year-old narrator questions the meaning of home.  Where is it?  Does it always stay the same?  Can a person have more than one home?  I hope so.  For me DC is home and Kentucky is home and a few special places I’ve been visiting for years certainly feel like home.   This past week with two snowfalls totaling more than 3 feet in some of the ‘burbs, I have found myself yearning for other, warmer climes.

In my backyard: Igloos and Icicles…

In my thoughts: White sand and blue water…

Hiking in the Virgin Islands National Park, we saw…

...deer eating leaves

...and flowers from the flame trees

Rikki Tikki Tavi…

Incredible blooms…

Tropical Mockingbirds that sang all day — and all night!

Pelicans famous for their fishing skills…

Deserted beaches…

US Virgin Islands National Park

And beautiful sunsets…

Each night we followed the mushroom lights “home”…

Responses

  1. I love the way Chili is always her own person. Very confident about her life no matter what is happening at home, at school or with her friends.


Leave a Reply

Categories

