Posted by: ktzefr | February 2, 2010

To Come and Go Like Magic — More News and Reviews…

Hot off the press!

“Told in beautifully crafted vignettes, Fawcett’s debut is a story of smalltown Appalachian life in the 1970s and finding the courage to leave home.” — Publishers Weekly

“Chili is a likable protagonist, and her descriptions of family and friends make them fully realized characters in their own right.” — School Library Journal

*Click the links to read the complete reviews for To Come and Go Like Magic!

What else is new?

Today I’m looking outside at winter…

and thinking of spring…

I usually walk two miles outside every morning, but for days I’ve been reduced to walking in circles inside because I don’t like walking in place on the treadmill!  However, I’m entertained off and on all day with the many birds this snow has brought to my feeders.  Besides the usual families of cardinals, jays, sparrows, chickadees, titmice, woodpeckers, and doves, we’ve had juncos, starlings, a few cowbirds, nuthatches, and a couple of mockingbirds.  The bluejays and the resident squirrels are in a fierce competition for the supply of daily peanuts.

Last year in February on a bird walk in the interior of the Yucatan I saw a male painted bunting up close.  As birds go, this species is way too pretty to be real.  It looked like a toy or a Christmas ornament.   If you’ve never seen this bird, check out these photos of the painted bunting.  I was too mesmerized to take my own photo and too afraid I would scare him away if I moved.

I did take other photos, however.  This one, a plant called mother-in-law’s tongue, grows wild in the tropics.  We call them snake plants and generally grow them much smaller in pots.

The little road in this picture reminded me of Kentucky when I was a child…whitewashing the trees.  Whitewashed trees, like these at Hacienda Chichen, are still common in many parts of Mexico…

The road ends at a pretty chapel…

Saint Isidro Labrador was named the saint of Hacienda Chichen in the 16th century by the Spanish conquistador Francisco de Montejo.  San Isidro Labrador was the patron saint of Montejo’s native city of Madrid.  Today, the little chapel is always open and is the site of an annual celebration that combines Catholic and Mayan beliefs and traditions.

It is similar to (and, yet, very different from) the one-room church houses that were common in Kentucky when I was growing up.

Alas, I hate to leave sunny Mexico, but the weatherman just predicted MORE SNOW!  So, with cupboards almost bare, I’m off to “enjoy” an afternoon at the grocery store where I’m sure to run into almost everyone I know!   Until next time, think Spring…

Leave a Reply

Categories

